Blessing in disguise

I continue to learn that sometimes, blessings show up in disguise.  As it turns out, I like to try and cram as many things in to my goals as possible.  By this I mean that I’ve had 2 larger competing fitness goals for the last 7 months.  I’ve really been struggling with what that meant for me and which was more important to me.  I know that lifting and strength training will make me a better runner.  I also know that I have not been able to shake the thought of running Ultra Marathon distances.  My strength (and nutrition) coach would prefer that I don’t run more than 2 or 3 miles at a time.  He says that he would prefer me to spend time that time with muscle building cardio as opposed to muscle shredding cardio.

In early December I was working on my strength and tweaked my shoulder.  In deciding to give my shoulder a rest, I decided to focus on my long distance running.  I’m really excited to say that I’ve signed up for my first trail race!  After spending many years road running, I decided to start with a 25K trail race.  Training has been going really well despite a few cold runs.  It’s been really fun to be testing gear, strategies and listening to an audio book about my goals.  2017 is going to be a great year!

Thanks for joining me on this journey

Author: mckennaonthemoveblog

Runner, father, soccer player

4 thoughts on “Blessing in disguise”

  1. I admire your ability to set lofty goals and work hard to accomplish them. You have found that accomplishing your goals leads to new and loftier goals, all with the promise of that sense of accomplishment when they are met. Your soccer years developed your sense of dedication and commitment. It has served you well. Good luck on your next “run”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

