50K – BB50 – Needville, TX

50K is here…I’ve been training and then resting (while partially injured) and trying to train more.  This is my first ultra and I’m still a little nervous.  I did 12.5mi two weeks ago and thought, well if all else fails I can walk the rest of the race.  I normally do 4min jogging 1 min walking.  That weekend was trending towards 3 min jogging 2 min walking or 2 min jogging 5 min walking.  Whatever it takes, right 😉  The days since then I have continued to get my knee worked on once a week and follow recovery advice daily.  Roll out with the foam roller, roll out with the rolling stick and roll on the lacrosse ball 2x a day (along with a little more extensive stretching than usual).  I think both of those have been helping.  Doc originally thought it was IT band.  Then we moved on to that probably being secondary to the groin, hip and hamstrings.  All it took was one long run on new trail shoes on the crushed granite to put the outside of my right knee into some serious pain.  Then weeks and months’ worth of work to get it almost back to normal.  I was able to do a 5K fun run and 2 training runs with only a small amount of discomfort.  I’ve also been trying to get to sleep earlier to ensure I have enough rest stored up for race day.  I’m stoked to get to run a new trail and a new distance.  I’m excited to get some new gear!  I’m grateful that I will have my trusted crew backing me.  This race will be 2 x 15.8 mi loops.  I’m targeting 14min/mi for a total completion time of 7hrs 15min which would be around 2:15pm (3hrs 41min per loop = 10:41am), but know that it could be as long as 22min/mi totaling 11hrs 27min completing around 6:30pm for me to finish if I had to walk.  I’ve been reading as much as possible to pick up any and all tips that I can get my hands on to ensure a successful race.  Let’s do it!

Thanks for joining me on this journey!

Author: mckennaonthemoveblog

Runner, father, soccer player

3 thoughts on “50K – BB50 – Needville, TX”

  1. The part of your crew that will be missing will be with you in spirit. Lots of prayers for a safe adventure into the new world you are seeking. Praying for your health physically and mentally to make it through to the finish line and another accomplishment in the books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

