Gear: For safety

I had a funny story from my wife’s cousin (Tom) a few months ago when I ran in Highland Village, TX.  I was doing a 10 mile run or so.  I got to Dallas late and would be getting up early so I was laying my gear out.  Tom came up the stairs and was like, “What the hell are you doing?”  I told him I was going for a run.  He said, “and you’re taking all that?”  That’s when it occurred to me that I really do take a lot of gear when I go out on a (an unsupported) run.  It’s even more when it’s really cold or really long.  I realized this weekend that I need a punch list to keep track of it all b/c it really sucks when you get out there and are missing something.  Each piece plays a critical role in the success of that run.  Each piece plays a critical role in whether or not you feel like absolute dog shit at some point in the run.  I mean you’re going to feel like that anyway (on a really long run), so why not go ahead and pack the things that you need to help you be the best you can be.  This is also my PSA to everyone to carry some sort/type of protective device when you’re out there.  It doesn’t matter if you’re alone or not.  It doesn’t matter if you’re in populated areas or not.  Please please please keep something with you that will give you a fighting chance.  People always give me excuses on why they don’t need something to protect them.  I figure they would agree once something bad happened.  Sad to say that, but it’s true.  I’ve started carrying my everyday knife when I go.  I keep it on my chest where anyone can see it and I can easily get to it.  Moving on, I just got such a kick out of Tom thinking I was taking the entire kitchen sink out on a run with me.  I think that day it was 10 degrees and turned out to be a really nice run 🙂

Thanks for joining me on this journey

Author: mckennaonthemoveblog

Runner, father, soccer player

Leave a comment